Epic Boca Grande 12wt Fibreglass Build

Hirdy
Club Member

Epic Boca Grande 12wt Fibreglass Build

Post by Hirdy » Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:05 pm

Hi guys,

Since I'm about to build this new rod up, I thought I might document the process on the forum. I'm no expert builder but this is certainly not my first rod either. I've built 5 previous Epic 'glass rods and about the same number of carbon rods, all with separately sourced components. This will be the first Epic build kit I've bought and built.

I'm hoping to demonstrate that building up one of these kits is a routine job that anyone who ties flies should be able to complete. It's not very complex and needs no special tools. My rod-building stand is made with scrap plywood. I tension my thread with a book and a rubber band. I've had no problems with the 10 rods I've already built.

First up, here's what you get in the build kit:

So far, the only omissions I can see are a blade for cutting the thread and tape for attaching the guides while the thread is being wound on. I'm sure I'll find a few other little things as I go. (For instance, there is no winding check: I'm not sure if there is meant to be one, but I never use them anyway.)

Approximate weight of the finished rod (Take off the weight of the plastic bag and add some weight for epoxy resins and threads - let's say 200g or so.)

More images to follow as the build progresses over the coming week.

Cheers,
Graeme
IFFF Certified Casting Instructor

Hirdy
Club Member

Re: Epic Boca Grande 12wt Fibreglass Build

Post by Hirdy » Thu Feb 04, 2016 9:06 pm

Today's work.

The blank was wiped with alcohol to clean it, then spined. That's a simple exercise where the thin end of the section is lifted while the thick end is rolled back and forth until the blank refuses to roll due to the bend (spine). I place my guides on the inside of that bend. There are other theories and there are also those who prefer a straight looking rod over a spined rod. Each to their own.