Toxic Algae

Adam Tombs

Toxic Algae

Post by Adam Tombs » Fri Apr 05, 2019 2:45 pm

Hi

Just hoping for some knowledge about the recent algal issue in the Swan? I have seen a few signs posted at different spots. as well as reading the fisheries warnings online. Is it safe to fish, but not eat fish? I'm thinking it would be ok?

Hirdy
Club Member

Re: Toxic Algae

Post by Hirdy » Sat Apr 06, 2019 8:26 am

Not being a doctor, I don't want to give you any specific advice.

I can tell you that I still fish there but won't eat anything.

Cheers,
Graeme
IFFF Certified Casting Instructor

Hirdy
Club Member

Post by Hirdy » Sat Apr 06, 2019 9:06 am

The Department of Health has issued an updated health warning advising people not to eat fish, crabs or shellfish collected from within the Swan River, extending from Pelican Point to Como Jetty and upstream to Middle Swan Reserve. This area includes the commonly known areas of Matilda Bay, Como Jetty, Perth Waters, Elizabeth Quay, Barrack Street Jetty, Claisebrook Cove, Ascot Waters, Riverside Gardens, Garvey Park, Point Reserve and Woodbridge Riverside Park.
Ongoing monitoring of the Swan River now shows elevated levels of the potentially toxic microscopic algae ‘Alexandrium minutum’ extending from Pelican Point to Como Jetty and upstream to Middle Swan Reserve.

The Department of Health is advising that consuming toxins produced by the detected microscopic algae ‘Alexandrium minutum’ could produce a type of poisoning known as paralytic shellfish poisoning (PSP).

These algae, which are not visible to the naked eye, can produce a toxin which could be absorbed by filter feeding shellfish and potentially consumed by crabs and finfish to a lesser extent. It is important to note that cooking will not destroy these toxins.